Skip to content

Honey, I Shrunk the Nostalgia!

November 17, 2012

The joy of having kids is that they watch kid’s movies.

And the guilty pleasure of being a parent is that you can force them to watch movies that you watched as a kid.

The whole downside to this whole setup is that nostalgia can be an evil enemy.

Me: Daughter dear, you must watch Mr. Hamster and the Lollipop! It is SOOOO GOOOOOD!

Daughter: Ok Daddy. I lub you.

Wife: Uh, are you sure that’s good for our daughter?

Me: Totally. I watched it a million times as a kid. It was SOOO GOOOOOD.

<1 hour later>

Me: Wow. That was really horrible.

Wife: On the bright side our daughter is now terrified of hamsters.

Daughter: <crying>

Well anyway, that didn’t just happen to me with Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. One, my daughter loves it. Two, my wife is the one who showed it to her. And three, the soundtrack is AMAZING!

Now it may be due to nostalgia as I grew up watching that movie and so its melodies are ingrained in my subconscious  But I just love this soundtrack. And it was made by James Horner who is a soundtrack MASTER! Enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

