Skip to content

The Unintended American Thanksgiving Post

November 23, 2012

So it’s apparently that time of year again when everyone in the world wishes all their American friends a “Happy Thanksgiving.”

Quite heart warming actually. Well this is what I have to say about that:

Bah Hambug!

Where was the “world’s wishes” when it was Canadian Thanksgiving, huh? Even my own church, the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand on one of its Facebook pages officially wished its American workers a Happy Thanksgiving. But when it was Canadian Thanksgiving not even a peep!

So what’s the deal World? Aren’t you thankful for Canada?!

Ok, so I am being a little cheeky 🙂 And to be honest, I’ve never wished anyone from Liberia, Norfolk Island, or Puerto Rico a Happy Thanksgiving (they are the other places that celebrate Thanksgiving). Then again, I’ve never known anyone ever in the entire history of my life from Liberia, Norfolk Island or Puerto Rico, so….yeah.

I guess Americans can be thankful that the World worships the ground they live on.

But I’m not bitter. Nope. No siree. I’m thankful.

I’m thankful I don’t need others to remind me to be thankful. I’m thankful for my family. I’m thankful for my church. I’m thankful for my friends. I’m even thankful for Americans. And I’m especially thankful for the grace I have in Christ.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone, and don’t forget to be thankful 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

