Skip to content

Why Did the Chicken Cross the Road?!

December 4, 2012

why-chicken-cross-road-other-side_why-need-reason

So today I was driving home from Tauranga when low and behold there was a chicken…on the edge of the road…waiting to get to the other side…seriously…there was a random chicken standing in the middle of nowhere on the edge of the highway clearly waiting to get to the other side.

Joke had become reality. The question “why did the chicken cross the road” went from being a very lame and bad joke to creating an existential angst in me that has been driving me up the wall.

First, why on earth was there a chicken there to begin with? It made no sense. There was no farm near by. There was nothing. There was a forest. And a mountainy type hill. My passenger was so shocked that he asked me if he had really seen a chicken. If it wasn’t for my passenger I wouldn’t believe it now.

Second, why did it want to cross the road? It was staring intently at the other side. It clearly wanted to get there. But why? What future awaited it there? What hope existed on the other side of the road? I have no idea.

Third, did the chicken make it across the road? I couldn’t stay to find out. But the chances of it getting across the road without getting hit by a car seemed unlikely. Is the chicken dead now? I don’t know. Did it make it across and achieve the bliss it hoped to get on the other side? I don’t know.

I don’t know.

And after years of eating chickens and re-telling a bad joke countless times, the chicken race has got its revenge. It has put me in an existential angst that I will never forget. I will never forget that chicken.

Chicken Race: 1 Me: 0

Tomorrow I get my revenge. Tomorrow I eat at KFC.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

