Skip to content

End of an Era

September 20, 2013

Hiroshi Yamauchi

I went online to check the latest news and low and behold I saw a news story I wasn’t expecting: Hiroshi Yamauchi, who ran Nintendo for more than 50 years and led the Japanese company’s transition from traditional playing-card maker to video game giant, had died. He was 85.

Kind of weird since I had just restarted blogging yesterday and I chose to talk about one of Nintendo’s most influential NES games, Final Fantasy.

I never actually owned a Nintendo growing up. When I was really young my older brother had a Nintendo. My favourite memories from that era were 1) Trying to move Mario by moving the NES controller like a Wii controller and my older brother calling me an idiot for not pressing the Directional pad arrows. Little did he know I was pioneering the future 2) Deleting my brothers games and losing his passwords (which made him very happy) and 3) My brother getting the golden NES cartridge of Zelda II: The Adventure of Link. Because of that, I prefer Zelda II over all other Zelda games which is unfortunate for me because it is the most different and despised game in the franchise.

Once my brother left the only access I had to a Nintendo was largely from a next door neighbour in my apartment building who owned a Nintendo (the previously mentioned Danny from the Final Fantasy post). My favourite memories from that era was beating 1) Final Fantasy I 2) Jackie Chan’s Action Kung Fu (a cool platformer) and 3) Faxanadu (a nifty side-scrolling RPG). Of course there are all the memories of the arguments, fights, excitement, tears, power failures, lost passwords, making up passwords, blowing in the cartridge, and massive confusion the games caused that I love as well.

Video games played a big role in my childhood. It’s just a part of what makes me, me. And let’s not forget all the amazing music in video games, especially the Final Fantasy series.

In that vein, here is a video my friend James posted on my Facebook page in response to my previous Final Fantasy post that I think has a keen (humorous) insight into the gamer mind šŸ˜€

So thank you Hiroshi Yamauchi for making Nintendo what it was and indirectly playing a role in my life.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

